Scholarship Overview

  • Country: United Kingdom
  • Scholarship Type: Merit-based
  • Institutions: All Universities in Wales
  • Funded by: Taith
  • Tuition Type: Full tuition
  • Degree Program: Masters
  • Scholarship Amount: Up to £10,000
  • Separate Application Required?: Yes
  • Deadline: May 2024 (Annually)

Scholarship Benefits

The Global Wales Postgraduate Scholarship programme provides scholarships valued at up to £10,000 for students to pursue a full-time master’s programme in Wales. These scholarships are awarded as a reduction in tuition fees and are non-transferable; no cash alternatives are available.

Should the scholarship amount exceed the tuition fee cost, the fees will be fully covered by the scholarship, and any excess funds will not be disbursed.


To qualify for the current year’s Global Wales Postgraduate scholarships, candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • You must have applied to pursue an eligible postgraduate course at a participating university in Wales, which includes: Aberystwyth University, Cardiff University, Swansea University, Bangor University,   University of Wales Trinity Saint David, Cardiff Metropolitan University, University of South Wales, and Wrexham Glyndwr University
  • Your intended postgraduate programme should commence in September 2024.
  • You should hold the status of an international student for the purpose of fee assessment.
  • You must hold citizenship from one of the eligible countries listed here.

How to apply

Every part of the online application must be filled out and submitted by the specified deadline. Applications that are not fully complete will be accepted.

Additional Information

Students hailing from Vietnam, India, the USA, Canada, and European Union countries are eligible for the scholarships. This distinguished award is Wales’ inaugural scholarship of its genre, presented by the Global Wales Programme—a collaborative initiative involving the Welsh Government, Universities Wales, The British Council, and HEFCW, with funding from Taith.

The scholarship is accessible through all Welsh universities, and it is a prerequisite that candidates have applied to a qualifying postgraduate course prior to applying for the scholarship.

Applicants are now permitted to submit scholarship applications for up to three different Welsh universities, on the condition that they have already applied to the respective postgraduate programmes and universities for which they are seeking the scholarship.

Official Websites