Delaware’s ratification of Constitution


This is the certificate of the Delaware ratification of the Constitution in 1787. Once the Constitution was written and signed by the delegates to the Constitutional Convention, it was sent to the 13 states for approval. Delaware was the first state to ratify it. The Constitution went into effect in 1788, when three-fourths of the original 13 states had ratified it. Text adapted from "Ratification of the Constitution" in the September 1987 National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) publication Social Education.

National Archives, Records of the Continental and Confederation Congresses and the Constitutional Convention


Educational Resources