Oath of office for Senator Johnson


This is the oath of office signed by Lyndon Johnson in 1955 when he was elected to the Senate. From his service in the Senate, he became Vice President and then President in 1963. Government officials are required to take an oath of office. Since the first law passed by Congress in 1789, all Members of Congress, all Federal officials, and all state executives, legislatures, and judiciaries have taken an oath to support the Constitution.

National Archives, Records of the U.S. Senate Used with the permission of the U.S. Senate


Additional Resources