Wilson’s oath of office


This document is the oath of office signed by Iowa Senator James F. Wilson in 1883, reflecting concerns still present from the Civil War era. Government officials are required to take an oath of office. Since the first law passed by Congress in 1789, all Members of Congress, all Federal officials, and all state executives, legislatures, and judiciaries have taken an oath to support the Constitution.

National Archives, Records of the U.S. Senate Used with the permission of the U.S. Senate


Additional Resources