A new flag


In 1776, the United States of America consisted of 13 states. With the addition of Vermont and Kentucky, there were 15 states by 1792, and the country needed to add more stars to its flag. This act, approving a new flag, was signed into law by President George Washington.

National Archives, General Records of the U.S. Government


Additional Resources