Three terms for Teddy?


This political cartoon criticizes President Theodore Roosevelt for campaigning for a third term of office in 1912. By limiting his own service as President to two terms, George Washington had set a precedent that lasted for many years. The only President elected more than twice was Franklin D. Roosevelt (Teddy’s cousin), who served four consecutive terms from 1933 to 1945. After his Presidency, an amendment was added to the Constitution limiting a President’s time in office to two terms.

National Archives, Records of the U.S. Senate Used with the permission of the U.S. Senate


Additional Resources